Access City Award 2020

EU cities are invited to take part in the Access City Award 2020, the European Prize for cities accessible to people with disabilities and elderly people.


The Access City Award is a prize for Europe’s most accessible cities. All European cities with a population over 50 000 are eligible. This is a great opportunity for cities to showcase their initiatives to become barrier-free, and to be better places for everyone to work and live in.

Applications are closed. There will be a two-stage selection process:

  • national juries will evaluate applicant cities at the national level
  • the EU jury will then evaluate the shortlisted cities


On 29 November 2019, the European Commission will announce the winners of the 10th Access City Award edition (1st, 2nd, and 3rd places) at a ceremony closing the European Day of Persons with Disabilities’ conference (28-29 November) in Brussels.

A financial prize will be given to the winning cities for the first time in the Award’s history, to celebrate its 10th anniversary.


On 23 October 2019 the European Commission published the names of the six shortlisted cities for the 2020 Access City Award. They are (in alphabetical order):

  • Castelló de la Plana (Spain)
  • Chania (Greece)
  • Évreux (France)
  • Skellefteå (Sweden)
  • Tartu (Estonia)
  • Warsaw (Poland)


Be the first to comment on "Access City Award 2020"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


error: Content is protected !!